robertisenberg

Vermont Roads : 5

In Uncategorized on December 13, 2009 at 12:21 am

Once, years ago, I was biking through Cornwall and got stuck behind a slow-moving tractor. But the tractor was wide and moving about 10 mph, which was about as fast as I could pedal. Even if I could maneuver around the tractor, I might not be able to keep ahead.

This is the kind of problem you can find on Vermont roads.

Nowadays, the machinery of agriculture is a distant memory. I see tractors, manure-spreaders, hay-balers, and these once-familiar vehicles now strike me as exotic. I grew up a few hundred feet from a horse-farm, but now I marvel at mares trotting in the brown grass. Even cows and sheep, the ubiquitous livestock of rural Vermont, spotted in nearly every town, seem strange and new.

Leave a Reply

