robertisenberg

Bike Trail

In Uncategorized on April 3, 2010 at 12:00 pm

At the Exxon,

the silver machine

rumbles air into my tires,

and as I pedal away

each rotation

bounces me over

the broken teeth of sidewalks,

until I turn onto a river-trail

and the stuttering calms

on young pavement.

The trail is glaciered

with granular snow,

and each berg

bullies my treads,

sticking the bike in place

as the wheels cough,

and I topple sideways,

anchored by a wet boot.

Winter has dammed this path

with slaughtered tree-trunks,

but as the sun tears through

the budless branches,

I bolt beneath them,

limboing, fast,

into Spring.

Leave a Reply

