robertisenberg

Nevermore Songs

In Uncategorized on July 25, 2010 at 7:34 pm

{This blog post is dedicated to Elena Passarello, friend, writer, actress, and kick-ass music commentator. Photograph depicts sleeping passengers in LAX Airport}

One day, I was killing time at Dave & Buster’s. Suddenly, above the empty bar, a music video started to play. The song was “She’s So High,” by Tal Bachman. I hadn’t heard the song for ages, but it was familiar – too familiar. If you listened to the radio at any given moment in 1999, you probably heard Bachman singing in his smooth falsetto: “She’s so hiiiiiiii-yai-yai-yai/so far above me/she’s so lovely…”

This is what I call a Nevermore Song.

Hearing this hit single made me feel strangely exhausted. Not because the song is bad, per se, but because I’d heard the song so many times in 1999. “She’s So High” never moved me enough to warrant so much listening. And now, a decade later, I still had not interest in it. I was being bullied by nostalgia.

I realized there are a lot of songs like this – songs we remember so vividly, and care so little about, that we never need to hear them again. I can’t judge them on value; all listeners have their unique tastes. But when they pop up, we furrow our brows. Oh, that one, we neutrally think. I remember when that was popular.

Here are some favorite Nevermore Songs – the singles that feel worn-out no matter how much time passes. I have no particular feelings about these songs, except for “Push” and “One More Time,” which I’m pretty sure were written by Nazis.

  1. She’s So High, Tal Bachman (1999)
  2. Adia, Sarah McLachlan (1997)
  3. Your Woman, White Town (1997)
  4. Iris, Goo Goo Dolls (1998)
  5. I’m Like a Bird, Nelly Furtado (2000)
  6. Push, Matchbox 20 (1997)
  7. …Baby, One More Time, Britney Spears (1998)
  8. Gone Till November, Wyclef Jean (1997)
  9. Change the World, Eric Clapton (1996)
  10. Beautiful, Christina Aguilera (2004)

If you feel so inclined, dear friends, feel free to post your own Nevermore Songs in the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

