robertisenberg

Extra, Extra! Photographer Hawks Prints!

In Uncategorized on July 29, 2010 at 9:20 pm

Photograph of Eastern Market, Washington D.C.

I love outdoor shopping.

Whether it’s farmer’s markets or Third World bazaars, there’s nothing better than perusing open-air stalls on a sunny day. I’ve always admired the jewelry-makers at craft fairs, the knickknack-dealers at flea-markets. Weaving through the Three Rivers Arts Festival, I always see artists lounging in their fold-out chairs, chatting with passersby. There’s something refreshing about this old-world vendorship. It’s just a merchant, some stuff, and you. You don’t like the price? Negotiate. Walk off with a pint of apple cider. Everybody’s happy.

Well, I finally get to be one of them.

This Saturday, I’ll be manning a table of photographs at StripFest, a low-key little block party in the Strip District. Most pictures are framed or matted, and I must cast aside the veil of modesty — they turned out startlingly well. I’ll be sitting around all day, from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. (or so). I’ll be sharing real estate with my friend Lindy, whose surrealist studio photography is frankly mind-blowing.

If a sunny day in the Strip and plenty of (very reasonably priced) fine art don’t get your heart racing, there’s also tons of live music, wine-tasting, beer-kegs and lobster rolls.

Coming back from Canada was never so much fun.

  1. this makes me miss Pittsburgh. Congratulations on the poem, by the way.

Leave a Reply

