robertisenberg

The Dice are Cast: 1

In Uncategorized on October 26, 2010 at 2:59 am

Photograph of the Mekong Delta, in Vietnam. Which is right next to Laos. Which is where I would like to spend part of next year.

Holy cats.

Autumn speeds by. November is upon us. Half my semester has elapsed.

I haven’t written a blog post for, oh, nearly three months. So what I have I been doing in all this time?

Applying for stuff.

I realized that, if all goes well, I’ll have a Master’s degree in May 2011. When all I think about is (a) midterm papers and (b) what I can scrounge up to eat before my three-hour night class, it’s hard to remember why I’m doing this. And by “this” I mean consuming enough caffeine to give George Jung a heart attack. “This” means lost sleep, night-terrors, and forgetting to drop my tuition payment in the mailbox until the very last day, so I must deliver it by hand, even though the check was filled out a week ago.

But seriously, grad school is a blast. Now and again I’ll be sitting in class and get this strange sense of panic – because classes will one day end, and already I miss them. These incandescent fellow writers. My wise-womyn professors. One day, I won’t be able to workshop essays about how much I abhor Burlington, Vermont, because we’ll all have our degrees and six-figure jobs at Ivy League universities. We’ll be too busy gallivanting around the world and schmoozing with editors by cell-phone… on our yachts… in the Aegean.

But before that happens, I have to figure out 2011. Like, the year that follows Christmas, which is fast approaching. This has become my new obsession, the one that keeps me up at all hours, typing my address into little online forms. Drafting “letters of intent” and “career biographies.” Because one way or another, I’m determined to do something awesome next year, and I’ll be damned if I know what it is.

Leave a Reply

